2014 in reading

I read eighty-six books in 2014.

Well, really: I read eighty-one books January through September, and five since then. Graduate school killed me. (I hope next semester will be better, but with a new job, thirty-five hour work weeks, and a full schedule of classes, I’m not sure I’ll be up for much reading.)

Anyway. Here are some notable books from 2014:

Books I read in one sitting: 
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Nobody Is Ever Missing by Catherine Lacey
The World in Half and The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez
The Splendid Things We Planned by Blake Bailey
Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? by Dave Eggers.

Fabulous books by ridiculously fabulous women: 
Casebook by Mona Simpson
Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self by Danielle Evans
Thunderstruck & Other Stories by Elizabeth McCracken
Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill
A Guide to Being Born: Stories by Ramona Ausubel
The Boys of My Youth by Jo Ann Beard
If You’re Not Yet Like Me by Edan Lepucki
The Anatomy of Dreams by Chloe Benjamin
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Wave by Sonali Deraniyagala

Outstanding books by people of color: 
In addition to Henriquez, Danielle Evans, Adichie, and Deraniyagala:
Family Life by Akhil Sharma
All Our Names by Dinaw Mengestu
The Residue Years by Mitchell S. Jackson
At Night We Walk in Circles and Lost City Radio by Daniel Aracon
We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo

Generally great books:
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra
Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge by Peter Orner
Falling Out of Time by David Grossman

Skip This is Where I Leave You, Local Souls (this hurts me, actually) and Leaving the Sea.

Forty-two books I read in 2014 were written by women, forty-four written by men.

In 2015, I’m looking forward to: Loitering, which I’m reading now, because Charles D’Ambrosio is a national treasure.

Also in 2015, because I’ve recently downloaded them on my Kindle: Thrown by Kerry Howley (on Iowa, go Hawks); All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews; The Dog by Joseph O’Neill; The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan; and Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson.

Twenty-four days to go until the spring semester. Time to get cracking.

Leave a Reply

